Nicholas D. Viest Chair

Latha Thompson District Manager



505 Park Avenue, Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022-1106 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com - Website info@cb8m.com - E-Mail

## The City of New York Manhattan Community Board 8

February 25, 2013

President Shino Tanikawa CECD2 333 Seventh Avenue #806 New York, NY 10001

E-mail: <a href="mailto:shinoT@verizon.net">shinoT@verizon.net</a>

**RE:** Life Science Secondary School

Dear Ms. Tanikawa:

At its Full Board meeting Wednesday, February 20, 2013, Manhattan Community Board 8 adopted the following resolution by a vote of 34 in favor, 0 opposed, 1 abstention:

WHEREAS Life Science Secondary School located at 320 East 96 St, and

WHEREAS the DOE designates Life Science as a District 4 school located in District 2, and

WHEREAS few if any parents in Community District 8 send their children to this school

**THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED** that Community Board 8 urges the DOE to correctly reclassify Life Sciences as a District 4 school and not count those seats as Community District 8/District 2 seats, in order to plan for the needed additional Middle School Seats in CD8.

Thank you for your attention in this matter.

Sincerely,

Nicholas D. Viest Chair Hattie Quarnstrom and Judith Schneider Co-Chair, Youth and Education Committee Hon. Michael Bloomberg, Mayor of the City of New York

Hon. Dennis Walcott, Chancellor DOE

Hon. Kathleen Grimm, Deputy Chancellor of Finance & Administration

Hon. Jeff Shear, Chief of Staff

Hon. Martin Barr, Executive Director, Department of Education

Marc Sternberg, Deputy Chancellor of Portfolio Planning

Elizabeth Rose, Chief of Staff for Public Affairs

Drew Patterson, Office of Portfolio, Department of Education Mariano Guzman, Superintendent Community School District 2

Hon. Scott M. Stringer, Manhattan Borough President

Hon. Rose Pierre-Louis, Deputy Manhattan Borough President

Hon. Carolyn Maloney, United States Congress Member

Hon. Liz Krueger, New York State Senator

Hon. Micah Kellner, New York State Assembly Member

Hon. Daniel Quart, New York State Assembly Member

Hon. Daniel Garodnick, New York City Council Member

Hon. Jessica Lappin, New York City Council Member

Hon. Robert Jackson, Chair, Education Committee, New York City Council

Kristen Ellis, Director of Comm. Affairs & Constituent Services, Manhattan Borough President's

Office

Linda Lumpkin, CECD2