Jacqueline Ludorf Chair

Latha Thompson District Manager



505 Park Avenue Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com Website info@cb8m.com - E-Mail

The City of New York Manhattan Community Board 8

February 19, 2010

Margaret Forgione Manhattan Borough Commissioner NYC Department of Transportation 59 Maiden Lane, 35th Flr. New York, NY 10038

Re: A request by Memorial Sloan Kettering to replace 5 parking spots with a "No Parking, Mon-Sat, 6am to 6pm" zone on the south side of East 67th Street between York and First Avenues in front of Rockefeller Research Laboratory

Dear Commissioner Forgione:

At the February 17, 2010 Land Use/Full Board meeting, Community Board 8M adopted the following resolution by a vote of 41 in favor, 0 opposed, 0 Abstentions:

WHEREAS, Memorial Hospital and Rockefeller Research Laboratory needed flexible access to their loading docks on East 67th Street between First and York Avenue, and

WHEREAS, traffic flow on this block, including the M66 bus route, would be improved by providing them this flexibility, and

WHEREAS, Memorial Sloan Kettering has agreed to return a number of parking spots currently assigned to MD parking to the public,

THERFORE BE IT RESOLVED that Community Board 8M approves the following parking sign changes on East 67th Street:

- 1) On the South side, install a new sign reading "No Standing, 6AM 6PM, Monday Saturday" with a single arrow pointing West at a location approximately 172 feet West of York Avenue (just East of the entry to Rockefeller Research Laboratory.
- 2) On the North side, remove the current sign reading "No Standing 7AM 7PM Including Sunday except Authorized Vehicles, MD Plates Only" with a single arrow facing East located 229 feet West of York Avenue. These spots should be restored to regular parking.

Please advise this office of any action taken regarding this matter.

Sincerely,

Jacqueline Ludorf Chair Jonathan Horn and Charles Warren Co-Chairs, Transportation Committee

cc: Hon. Michael Bloomberg, Mayor of the City of New York

Hon. Scott M. Stringer, Manhattan Borough President

Hon. Rose Pierre-Louis, Deputy Manhattan Borough President

Hon. Carolyn Maloney, United States Congress Member

Hon. Liz Krueger, New York State Senator

Hon. Jonathan Bing, New York State Assembly Member

Hon. Micah Kellner, New York State Assembly Member

Hon. Daniel Garodnick, New York City Council Member

Hon. Jessica Lappin, New York City Council Member