James G. Clynes Chairman

Latha Thompson District Manager



505 Park Avenue Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) info@cb8m.com- E-Mail www.cb8m.com – Website

The City of New York Manhattan Community Board 8

April 21, 2016

Kathryn Garcia Commissioner NYC Department of Sanitation 125 Worth Street New York, NY 10013

Re: Marine Transfer Station Impact on Pedestrian-Cyclist Safety on Upper-East-Side

Dear Commissioner Garcia:

At the April 20, 2016 Full Board Meeting of Community Board 8M, the following resolution was adopted by a vote of 42 in favor, 0 opposed, and 0 abstentions.

Whereas, Community Board is very concerned about the impact of the Marine Transfer Station on pedestrian/cyclist safety on the Upper East Side; and

Whereas, the initial safety plan relating to the MTS was completed in 2005; and

Whereas, since 2005 there have been material changes on the Upper East Side due to several factors including the construction of the 2nd Avenue Subway, the installation of bike lanes, the installation of bus lanes, among others,

Therefore let it be resolved that, Community Board 8 requests that the New York City Department of Sanitation (DSNY), within three (3) months of this resolution, conduct an updated and comprehensive pedestrian/cyclist safety study and develop a safety plan of the Upper East Side and the impact that the Marine Transfer Station will have on safety taking into account the material changes since 2005. Further this study should include the impact of both the current 91st Street ramp and the planned ramp relocation to 92nd Street.

Please advise this office of any action taken regarding this matter.

Sincerely,

James G. Clynes Chairman Abraham Salcedo and Cos Spagnoletti Co-Chairs, Marine Transfer Station Task Force cc: Hon. Bill de Blasio, Mayor of the City of New York
Hon. Gale Brewer, Manhattan Borough President
Hon. Carolyn Maloney, 12th Congressional District Representative
Hon. Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 28th Senatorial District
Hon. Dan Quart, 73rd Assembly District
Hon. Rebecca Seawright, 76th Assembly District
Hon. Daniel Garodnick, NYC Council Member, 4th Council District
Hon. Ben Kallos, NYC Council Member, 5th Council District