James G. Clynes Chairman

Latha Thompson District Manager



505 Park Avenue Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com Website info@cb8m.com - E-Mail

The City of New York Manhattan Community Board 8

February 27, 2015

Margaret Forgione Manhattan Borough Commissioner NYC Department of Transportation 59 Maiden Lane, 35th Flr. New York, NY 10038

Re: A request for a new Revocable Consent to install a fenced-in area at 117 East 83rd Street

Dear Commissioner Forgione:

At the January 21, 2015 Full Board meeting, the board passed the following resolution to **disapprove** by a vote of 39 in favor, 0 opposed, 0 abstentions and 0 not voting for cause:

WHEREAS David Edelstein has petitioned for a new revocable consent at 117 East 83rd Street to construct, maintain, and use a proposed fenced-in area; and

WHEREAS the proposed fence extends the entire 25-foot length of the property; and

WHEREAS this fenced-in area will negatively impact pedestrians passing in front of this property; and

WHEREAS the petitioner's architect has offered to submit a revised petition, without fencing along the length of the property and perhaps using scaled-back planters;

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that Community Board 8 Manhattan disapproves the request for a revocable consent to construct, maintain, and use a proposed fenced-in area at 117 East 83rd Street; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that Community Board 8 Manhattan encourages the petitioner to submit a revised proposal.

Please advise this office of any action taken regarding this matter.

Sincerely,

James G. Clynes Chairman A. Scott Falk and Charles Warren Co-Chairs, Transportation Committee

cc: Honorable Bill de Blasio, Mayor of the City of New York
Honorable Gale Brewer, Manhattan Borough President
Honorable Carolyn Maloney, 14th Congressional District Representative
Honorable Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 26th Senatorial District
Honorable Dan Quart, NYS Assembly Member, 73rd Assembly District

Honorable Rebecca Seawright, NYS Assembly Member 76th Assembly District Honorable Ben Kallos, NYC Council Member, 5th Council District Honorable Daniel Garodnick, NYC Council Member, 4th Council District