Valerie S. Mason Chair

Will Brightbill District Manager



The City of New York Community Board 8 Manhattan

May 23, 2025

Richard R. Buery Jr., Chair New York City Charter Revision Commission City Hall New York, NY 10007

RE: NYC Elections Should Continue to be Held on Odd Numbered Years

Dear Chair Buery Jr.,

At the Full Board meeting of Community Board 8 Manhattan held on May 21, 2025, the Board approved the following resolution by a vote of 37 in favor, 3 opposed, 0 abstentions, and 0 not voting for cause.

WHEREAS with NYC elections being held on odd numbered years, they are not overshadowed by state wide or national races, which gives local candidates and issues more visibility, allowing voters to better focus on city-specific concerns like housing, policing, schools, and transit; and

WHEREAS even numbered years already have crowded ballots with Federal and State contests so adding NYC elections could lead to voter fatigue where overwhelmed voters might skip local races or make less informed choices; and

WHEREAS with fewer elections happening simultaneously, candidates for city office may have more opportunities to engage with voters, participate in debates, and be covered by local media; and

WHEREAS all candidates for multiple positions on multiple ballot lines will be vying for advertising time in all media, that advertising will become more expensive, thereby inhibiting most campaigns financially and resulting in less information about each candidate reaching the voters;

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that CB8M recommends that the City Charter Revision Commission NOT recommend that New York City elections be moved to even numbered years.

Please advise us of any action taken on this matter.

Sincerely,

Valerie S. Mason

Edward Hartzog and Sharon Weiner

Valerie S. Mason Chair Edward Hartzog and Sharon Weiner Co-Chairs, Voting Reform and Charter Revision Task Force

cc: Honorable Kathy Hochul, Governor of New York

Honorable Eric Adams, Mayor of the City of New York

Honorable Mark Levine, Manhattan Borough President

Honorable Jerry Nadler, 12th Congressional District Representative

Honorable Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 28th Senatorial District

Honorable José M. Serrano, NYS Senator, 29th Senatorial District

Honorable Edward Gibbs, NYS Assembly Member 68th Assembly District

Honorable Alex Bores, NYS Assembly Member, 73rd Assembly District

505 Park Avenue, Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022-1106

www.cb8m.com - Website info@cb8m.com - E-Mail

(212) 758-4340

(212) 758-4616 (Fax)

Honorable Rebecca Seawright, NYS Assembly Member 76th Assembly District Honorable Keith Powers, NYC Council Member, 4th Council District Honorable Julie Menin, NYC Council Member, 5th Council District Honorable Diana Ayala, NYC Council Member, 8th Council District