Valerie S. Mason Chair

Will Brightbill District Manager



505 Park Avenue, Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022-1106 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com – Website info@cb8m.com – E-Mail

The City of New York Community Board 8 Manhattan

April 23, 2025

Richard R. Buery Jr., Chair New York City Charter Revision Commission City Hall New York, NY 10007

## **RE: ULURP Process**

Dear Chair Buery Jr.,

At the Full Board meeting of Community Board 8 Manhattan held on April 16, 2025, the Board unanimously approved the following resolution by a vote of 42 in favor, 0 opposed, 0 abstentions, and 0 not voting for cause.

**WHEREAS** ULURP (the Uniform Land Use Review Procedure) is the official procedure that New York City uses to review and approve land use and zoning changes; and

WHEREAS these changes can include things like rezoning, special permits, site selections for public facilities, and major changes to city maps; and

WHEREAS ULURP provides for the inclusion of community voices and elected officials' and city agencies' input which are involved in the decision-making process; and

**WHEREAS** ULURP Applications are reviewed, as follows: Community Board, 60 days, Borough President, 30 days, City Planning Commission, 60 days, City Council, 50 days, and the Mayor, 5 days; and

**THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED** that CB8M recommends that the Charter Revision Commission approve a ballot initiative to amend the New York City Charter to ensure that review times for Community Boards and Borough Presidents not be reduced;

**BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED** that as Community Boards do not meet in August, any ULURP applications submitted after July 1st should have Community Board review increased by 60 days.

Please advise us of any action taken on this matter.

Sincerely,

Valerie S. Masan

Valerie S. Mason Chair

Edward Hartzog and Sharon Weiner

Edward Hartzog and Sharon Weiner Co-Chairs, Voting Reform and Charter Revision Task Force

cc: Honorable Kathy Hochul, Governor of New York Honorable Eric Adams, Mayor of the City of New York Honorable Mark Levine, Manhattan Borough President Honorable Jerry Nadler, 12th Congressional District Representative Honorable Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 28th Senatorial District Honorable José M. Serrano, NYS Senator, 29th Senatorial District Honorable Edward Gibbs, NYS Assembly Member 68th Assembly District Honorable Alex Bores, NYS Assembly Member, 73rd Assembly District Honorable Rebecca Seawright, NYS Assembly Member 76th Assembly District Honorable Keith Powers, NYC Council Member, 4th Council District Honorable Julie Menin, NYC Council Member, 5th Council District Honorable Diana Ayala, NYC Council Member, 8th Council District