Valerie S. Mason Chair

Will Brightbill District Manager



The City of New York Community Board 8 Manhattan

April 23, 2025

Henry Garrido, Co-chair New York City Commission to Strengthen Local Democracy City Hall New York, NY 10007

Arva Rice, Co-Chair New York City Commission to Strengthen Local Democracy City Hall New York, NY 10007

RE: The Language of Ballot Issues Should be Objective, Factual, and Accurate

Dear Chairs Garrido and Rice,

At the Full Board meeting of Community Board 8 Manhattan held on April 16, 2025, the Board unanimously approved the following resolution by a vote of 42 in favor, 0 opposed, 0 abstentions, and 0 not voting for cause.

WHEREAS New York City ballot measures often deal with issues of city law and government that are complicated and/or unfamiliar to the general public; and

WHEREAS valid ballot measures should be presented to the public in a matter that enables voters to understand what they are voting on; and

WHEREAS descriptions of ballot measures should not promote a particular viewpoint or outcome but only state the facts;

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that CB8M recommends that the Charter Revision Commission approve a ballot initiative to amend the New York City Charter to require that ballot measures be presented on the ballots objectively, factually, and accurately.

Please advise us of any action taken on this matter.

Sincerely,

Valerie S. Mason

Edward Hartzog and Sharon Weiner

Valerie S. Mason Chair Edward Hartzog and Sharon Weiner Co-Chairs, Voting Reform and Charter Revision Task Force

cc: Honorable Kathy Hochul, Governor of New York

Honorable Eric Adams, Mayor of the City of New York

Honorable Mark Levine, Manhattan Borough President

Honorable Jerry Nadler, 12th Congressional District Representative

Honorable Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 28th Senatorial District

Honorable José M. Serrano, NYS Senator, 29th Senatorial District

Honorable Edward Gibbs, NYS Assembly Member 68th Assembly District

Honorable Alex Bores, NYS Assembly Member, 73rd Assembly District

Honorable Rebecca Seawright, NYS Assembly Member 76th Assembly District

Honorable Keith Powers, NYC Council Member, 4th Council District

Honorable Julie Menin, NYC Council Member, 5th Council District

Honorable Diana Ayala, NYC Council Member, 8th Council District

505 Park Avenue, Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022-1106

(212) 758-4340

(212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com - Website

info@cb8m.com - E-Mail