Valerie S. Mason Chair

Will Brightbill District Manager



505 Park Avenue, Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022-1106 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com – Website info@cb8m.com – E-Mail

The City of New York Community Board 8 Manhattan

April 23, 2025

Richard R. Buery Jr., Chair New York City Charter Revision Commission City Hall New York, NY 10007

## **RE: Preservation of Historic Districts**

Dear Chair Buery Jr.,

At the Full Board meeting of Community Board 8 Manhattan held on April 16, 2025, the Board approved the following resolution by a vote of 23 in favor, 14 opposed, 4 abstentions, and 0 not voting for cause.

**WHEREAS** the purpose of a Historic District is to preserve and protect areas that have significant historical, architectural, cultural, or archaeological value; and

WHEREAS Historic Districts help maintain the character and the integrity of places that reflect important aspects of a community's past; and

**WHEREAS** Historic Districts protect unique or representative architectural styles and building technology that might otherwise be lost to modern development; and

WHEREAS Historic Districts foster a sense of pride, contributing to a community's unique identity, and continuity; and

**WHEREAS** preserving and reusing older buildings is often more environmentally sustainable than demolition and new construction;

**THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED** that CB8M recommends that the Charter Revision Commission approve a ballot amendment that preserves the historic nature, cultural legacy, unique architectural styles, and significance of the geographic sizes of New York City's many Historic Districts; they should not be reduced in size to accommodate new development; the possibility of supporting new construction should not be considered as a criteria for establishing a reduced Historic District.

Please advise us of any action taken on this matter.

Sincerely,

Valerie S. Mason

Valerie S. Mason Chair

Edward Hartzog and Sharon Weiner

Edward Hartzog and Sharon Weiner Co-Chairs, Voting Reform and Charter Revision Task Force

cc: Honorable Kathy Hochul, Governor of New York Honorable Eric Adams, Mayor of the City of New York Honorable Mark Levine, Manhattan Borough President Honorable Jerry Nadler, 12th Congressional District Representative Honorable Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 28th Senatorial District Honorable José M. Serrano, NYS Senator, 29th Senatorial District Honorable Edward Gibbs, NYS Assembly Member 68th Assembly District Honorable Alex Bores, NYS Assembly Member, 73rd Assembly District Honorable Rebecca Seawright, NYS Assembly Member 76th Assembly District Honorable Keith Powers, NYC Council Member, 4th Council District Honorable Julie Menin, NYC Council Member, 5th Council District Honorable Diana Ayala, NYC Council Member, 8<sup>th</sup> Council District