Valerie S. Mason Chair

Will Brightbill District Manager



505 Park Avenue, Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022-1106 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com – Website info@cb8m.com – E-Mail

## The City of New York Community Board 8 Manhattan

April 23, 2025

Henry Garrido, Co-chair New York City Commission to Strengthen Local Democracy City Hall New York, NY 10007

Arva Rice, Co-Chair New York City Commission to Strengthen Local Democracy City Hall New York, NY 10007

## **RE: Need for an Urban Planner**

Dear Chairs Garrido and Rice,

At the Full Board meeting of Community Board 8 Manhattan held on April 16, 2025, the Board unanimously approved the following resolution by a vote of 42 in favor, 0 opposed, 0 abstentions, and 0 not voting for cause.

**WHEREAS** Community Boards are asked to review land use applications, including zoning changes and new development plans through their role in the Uniform Land Use Review Procedure (ULURP), thus playing a vital role in shaping local development; and

WHEREAS Community Boards would benefit from the expertise of a professional urban planner; and

WHEREAS Community Boards do not have the budget to engage their own urban planner;

**THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED** that CB8M recommends that the Charter Revision Commission approve a ballot initiative to amend the New York City Charter to require that each Borough President retain the services of an urban planner whose services can be utilized by that borough's Community Boards, which would benefit from the expertise of an urban planner on development and other projects.

Please advise us of any action taken on this matter.

Sincerely,

Valerie S. Mason

Valerie S. Mason Chair

Edward Hartzog and Sharon Weiner

Edward Hartzog and Sharon Weiner Co-Chairs, Voting Reform and Charter Revision Task Force

cc: Honorable Kathy Hochul, Governor of New York Honorable Eric Adams, Mayor of the City of New York Honorable Mark Levine, Manhattan Borough President Honorable Jerry Nadler, 12th Congressional District Representative Honorable Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 28th Senatorial District Honorable José M. Serrano, NYS Senator, 29th Senatorial District Honorable Edward Gibbs, NYS Assembly Member 68th Assembly District Honorable Alex Bores, NYS Assembly Member, 73rd Assembly District Honorable Rebecca Seawright, NYS Assembly Member 76th Assembly District Honorable Keith Powers, NYC Council Member, 4th Council District Honorable Julie Menin, NYC Council Member, 5th Council District Honorable Diana Ayala, NYC Council Member, 8<sup>th</sup> Council District