Valerie S. Mason Chair

Will Brightbill District Manager



505 Park Avenue, Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022-1106 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com – Website info@cb8m.com – E-Mail

The City of New York Community Board 8 Manhattan

January 22, 2025

Honorable Sarah Carroll, Chair NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission Municipal Building One Center Street, 9th Floor New York, New York 10007

<u>RE: 23 East 74th Street (Upper East Side Historic District)</u> – *Michael Licht AIA* – A Neo-Italian Renaissance building designed by Schwartz & Gross and constructed in 1924-1925. Application is for the replacement of a 160 square foot solarium on a 14th floor terrace of a 16-story building.

Dear Chair Carroll,

At the Full Board meeting of Community Board 8 Manhattan held on January 15, 2025, the Board approved the following resolution by a vote of 39 in favor, 1 opposed, 0 abstentions, and 0 not voting for cause.

WHEREAS 23 East 74th Street is an apartment house located on the north side of East 74th Street one lot west of Madison Avenue: and

WHEREAS this apartment on the 14th floor was created as a full floor combination in 1998 with the current "solarium" enclosure as part of the combination; and

WHEREAS the "solarium" replaced an awning on the open terrace at least since the 1939-1940 Tax Photographs; and

WHEREAS the applicant proposes a new "solarium" structure with a footprint identical to that of the existing structure but with a flatter roof, color to match existing windows, and more robust operable openings; and

WHEREAS the new "solarium" presents a more visible presence when viewed from the street largely due to the flatter roof structure, although it is no taller in overall height; and

WHEREAS the "solarium" is on a secondary façade and presents its shorter dimension toward Madison Avenue; and

WHEREAS the distance from the street and the relative modesty of the change were acknowledged by the Committee;

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that this application is APPROVED AS PRESENTED.

Please advise us of any action taken on this matter.

Sincerely,

Valerie S. Mason

Anthony Cohn and David Helpern

Valerie S. Mason Chair Anthony Cohn and David Helpern Co-Chairs, Landmarks Committee

cc: Honorable Kathy Hochul, Governor of New York

Honorable Eric Adams, Mayor of the City of New York Honorable Mark Levine, Manhattan Borough President Honorable Jerry Nadler, 12th Congressional District Representative
Honorable Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 28th Senatorial District
Honorable José M. Serrano, NYS Senator, 29th Senatorial District
Honorable Edward Gibbs, NYS Assembly Member 68th Assembly District
Honorable Alex Bores, NYS Assembly Member, 73rd Assembly District
Honorable Rebecca Seawright, NYS Assembly Member 76th Assembly District
Honorable Keith Powers, NYC Council Member, 4th Council District
Honorable Julie Menin, NYC Council Member, 5th Council District
Honorable Diana Ayala, NYC Council Member, 8th Council District