Valerie S. Mason Chair

Will Brightbill District Manager



505 Park Avenue, Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022-1106 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com – Website info@cb8m.com – E-Mail

October 25, 2024

Honorable Sarah Carroll, Chair NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission Municipal Building One Center Street, 9th Floor New York, New York 10007

RE: 1185 Park Avenue (Expanded Carnegie Hill Historic District) – *Michael Doyle* – A neo-Gothic style building designed by Schwartz and Gross and constructed in 1929. Application is to renovate six existing lightwells at the interior courtyard for new waterproofing and structural reinforcement.

Dear Chair Carroll,

At the Full Board meeting of Community Board 8 Manhattan held on October 23, 2024, the Board approved the following resolution by a vote of 37 in favor, 1 opposed, 0 abstentions, and 0 not voting for cause.

WHEREAS 1185 Park Avenue is an apartment house occupying the east blockfront of Park Avenue between 93rd and 94th Streets; and

WHEREAS 1185 Park Avenue remains one of the few apartment houses in Manhattan that possesses an interior courtyard, which is considered a public space for the purposes of the Landmarks Preservation Commission; and

WHEREAS the courtyard has been altered many times since its original construction; and

WHEREAS the basement areas below the central courtyard were originally lit from windowed lightwells; and

WHEREAS the windows were replaced with metal grates at some time after 1930; and

WHEREAS these metal grates have deteriorated and weakened the structural integrity of the planters to either side of them and the basement areas below; and

WHEREAS the applicant proposes to replace the damaged grates with a granite front to match the historic fabric of the courtyard planters and to install a solid granite top at planter height, with contrasting decorative marble panels; and

WHEREAS the changes will prevent further water intrusion to the basement areas;

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that this application is APPROVED AS PRESENTED.

Please advise us of any action taken on this matter.

Sincerely,

Valerie S. Mason

Anthony Cohn and David Helpern

Valerie S. Mason Chair Anthony Cohn and David Helpern Co-Chairs, Landmarks Committee

cc: Honorable Kathy Hochul, Governor of New York

Honorable Eric Adams, Mayor of the City of New York Honorable Mark Levine, Manhattan Borough President Honorable Jerry Nadler, 12th Congressional District Representative
Honorable Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 28th Senatorial District
Honorable José M. Serrano, NYS Senator, 29th Senatorial District
Honorable Edward Gibbs, NYS Assembly Member 68th Assembly District
Honorable Alex Bores, NYS Assembly Member, 73rd Assembly District
Honorable Rebecca Seawright, NYS Assembly Member 76th Assembly District
Honorable Keith Powers, NYC Council Member, 4th Council District
Honorable Julie Menin, NYC Council Member, 5th Council District
Honorable Diana Ayala, NYC Council Member, 8th Council District