Valerie S. Mason Chair

Will Brightbill District Manager



505 Park Avenue, Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022-1106 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com – Website info@cb8m.com – E-Mail

The City of New York Community Board 8 Manhattan

September 23, 2024

Honorable Sarah Carroll, Chair NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission Municipal Building One Center Street, 9th Floor New York, New York 10007

<u>RE: 910 Fifth Avenue (Upper East Side Historic District)</u> – *Dorota Szwam* **– A no-style building designed by Fred F. French and constructed in 1919, with the present façade altering the original Neo-Italian Renaissance style designed by Sylvan Bien and constructed in 1958-1959. Application is for an alteration to the south terrace bay window.**

Dear Chair Carroll,

At the Full Board meeting of Community Board 8 Manhattan held on September 18, 2024, the Board unanimously approved the following resolution by a vote of 34 in favor, 0 opposed, 0 abstentions, and 0 not voting for cause.

WHEREAS 910 Fifth Avenue is an apartment house occupying the northeast corner of Fifth Avenue and 72nd Street; and

WHEREAS the original twelve-story building was enlarged to sixteen stories and underwent an alteration, transforming its exterior from Neo-Italian Renaissance to white brick; and

WHEREAS the applicant proposes to alter the configuration of bay window structures added after the 1959 renovation/addition; and

WHEREAS the flat roofed bays will be more in keeping with the building architecture than the greenhouse type additions currently in use; and

WHEREAS the applicant further proposes to modify the railing at the north side of the apartment surrounding a large terrace for safety reasons; and

WHEREAS the proposed interventions are of a modest and appropriate aesthetic and will be minimally visible from the public way;

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that this application is APPROVED AS PRESENTED.

Please advise us of any action taken on this matter.

Sincerely,

Valerie S. Mason

Valerie S. Mason Chair

Anthony Cohn and David Helpern

Anthony Cohn and David Helpern Co-Chairs, Landmarks Committee

cc: Honorable Kathy Hochul, Governor of New York Honorable Eric Adams, Mayor of the City of New York Honorable Mark Levine, Manhattan Borough President Honorable Jerry Nadler, 12th Congressional District Representative Honorable Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 28th Senatorial District Honorable José M. Serrano, NYS Senator, 29th Senatorial District Honorable Edward Gibbs, NYS Assembly Member 68th Assembly District Honorable Alex Bores, NYS Assembly Member, 73rd Assembly District Honorable Rebecca Seawright, NYS Assembly Member 76th Assembly District Honorable Keith Powers, NYC Council Member, 4th Council District Honorable Julie Menin, NYC Council Member, 5th Council District Honorable Diana Ayala, NYC Council Member, 8th Council District